Bash on windows 10

pumkinhead

Dramacrat
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
272
I've tried using virtual box to create a linux environment but I got some error about my CPU or some bs(my computer is made from different "second" hand parts so nothing really behaves as it should). So I'm currently trying to use cygwin, but when I create a file in it I can't find it on my computer. Additionally it seems to be unable to become an environmental variable. Also nano doesn't work on it.
Any suggestions as to what I can use?
 

Likeicare

EDF is my hugbox
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
33,076
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
lolthisismyhome.com
I've tried using virtual box to create a linux environment but I got some error about my CPU or some bs(my computer is made from different "second" hand parts so nothing really behaves as it should). So I'm currently trying to use cygwin, but when I create a file in it I can't find it on my computer. Additionally it seems to be unable to become an environmental variable. Also nano doesn't work on it.
Any suggestions as to what I can use?
Windows 7
 

uberfukken

Custom title
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
23,550
I've tried using virtual box to create a linux environment but I got some error about my CPU or some bs(my computer is made from different "second" hand parts so nothing really behaves as it should). So I'm currently trying to use cygwin, but when I create a file in it I can't find it on my computer. Additionally it seems to be unable to become an environmental variable. Also nano doesn't work on it.
Any suggestions as to what I can use?
Go into your BIOS and turn on virtualization, and then use virtual box.
 

nazca

Autistic Edgelord
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
1,054
Just out of curiosity, what exactly are you trying to do ?
 

Maria M

EDF Elite
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
1,056
Windows 10 was made for Retards who need hand holding. Fuck it like a sock puppet. Ill download whatever I please
 

moogshroom

EDF Hero
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
582
Log in as root and try running rm -rf /

Then install Windows 3.1 in DOSbox, without forgetting to mount the drive of your Windows 10 installation.
 

Malachi

EDF Elite
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
1,018
Dear god what is this abomination
MS trying to get more people to use their 'os' and totally not try to bone them over in any way possible in the future and maybe not sell their shit to the NSA nope nope nope.

Really, it's just good for people who have, say, an ubuntu/linux VM sitting around just for cross-plat compilation or some shit.
 

Black Hitler

Tyrantrum sock
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
100
Made my laptop go fucktard on me so I had to update the BIOS, which fixed the black screen issue. Also got so many fucking blue screens by changing the power settings.

Never had that dumb shit with Windows 7 so fix your shit Micro$oft. :picard:

The issue was that I had to put the laptop in hibernation mode and turn it back on again.

Bonus: the constant shilling they're doing for Microsoft Edge within the OS is annoying shit so that's why I had the damn browser removed altogether. #ChromeMasterRace
 
Last edited:

uberfukken

Custom title
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
23,550
Made my laptop go fucktard on me so I had to update the BIOS. Also got so many fucking blue screens by changing the power settings.

Never had that dumb shit with Windows 7 so fix your shit Micro$oft. :picard:
Sounds like a user problem.
 
Top